University of Southern California (USC) Trojans Heisman Trophy Winners: 7 total recipients

admin 0

Seven football players from the Trojans of the University of Southern California (USC) won the Heisman Trophy. The seven footballers who have won the seven Heisman Awards are as follows:

  • Mike Garrett, a running back, won in 1965
  • OJ Simpson, a runner, received the award in 1968
  • Charles White, a runner, accepted the honor in 1979.
  • Marcus Allen in 1981 became the fourth USC running back to win the award.
  • Carson Palmer was the first Trojans quarterback to win the award when he accepted it in 2002.
  • Matt Leinart played quarterback for the University of Southern California and received the Heisman Award in 2004
  • Reggie Bush in 2005 was named the fifth USC running back to take home the award.

With a total of seven Heisman Trophies produced by Southern Cal, the Los Angeles, California-based institution of higher education, it is tied for the most received by any school. Both the University of Notre Dame and Ohio State University each match an impressive seven trophies from a single school. Because Ohio State has the distinction of producing the only two-time winner at Archie Griffin, Notre Dame and the University of Southern California actually stand together as the only two universities to produce seven different winners.

The Heisman Trophy is named after soccer pioneer John Heisman and was first presented to Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago in 1935. Over the decades, the award has been widely accepted as the most hyped and prestigious individual accolade. in the sport of college football. Although the Heisman Association was awarded the most outstanding college football player, earning the honor has not proven to be a guarantee of professional success.

As for the seven Trojans players who have had the honor of winning the Heisman Trophy, two of those men went from college football to the National Football League (NFL) as the number one overall pick in the NFL Draft. in their respective years. The two players chosen with the first pick of the first round in the NFL Drafts are Orenthal James (OJ) Simpson, who was chosen by the Buffalo Bills in 1969 and Carson Palmer, who was selected with the first draft selection of the 2003 NFL by the Cincinnati Bengals. .

Despite falling to No. 10 from the Los Angeles Raiders in 1982, Marcus Allen joined OJ Simpson in 2003 as the only two former USC players to win the Heisman Trophy and be inducted into the Soccer Hall of Fame. Professional American in Canton, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *